The best power tool brands in this roundup serve different buyers: DEWALT is my best overall choice for its broad mix of combo kits and individual tools, while CRAFTSMAN stands out for multi-tool bundles and BLACK+DECKER for approachable home-use kits. Greenworks offers a focused drill-and-impact set with two batteries, but its lineup here is narrower than DEWALT’s. The main tradeoff is whether to prioritize a platform with many compatible tools, a bundle that covers several jobs at once, or a simpler kit for occasional repairs. I compare all 13 options by range, included tools, usability, and likely fit for different workloads. Read on for the full breakdown and advice on choosing a brand platform that suits your plans.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- DEWALT has the widest representation in this roundup: its options range from drill-and-driver pairs to five- and nine-tool kits, plus standalone drill and oscillating-tool picks.
- Bundle size does not automatically mean better fit: CRAFTSMAN’s seven-tool set and DEWALT’s nine-tool kit suit buyers who need several tool types, while a smaller kit can be a smarter starting point.
- Battery strategy separates the picks: Greenworks includes two batteries with its drill-and-impact combo, while several other options make the most sense as an entry into a larger shared platform.
- BLACK+DECKER favors home projects and starter needs: its four-tool set and drill kit with a large bit assortment offer accessible ways to cover basic tasks, but may not suit demanding jobsite use.
- Standalone tools fill specific gaps: DEWALT’s XR oscillating tools and drill-driver picks can make more sense for buyers who already own compatible batteries than buying another broad kit.
| power tool brand | Battery type | Voltage | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Power To | Lithium-ion | 20 volts | 3-year limited warranty |
| Greenworks 24V Cordless Brushl | Lithium-ion | — | — |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Power Too | Lithium-ion | 20V | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating | Lithium-ion | 20 volts | 3 years |
| BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill & H | Lithium-ion | 12 volts | 2-year limited warranty |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impac | Lithium-ion | 20V | 3 years |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating | — | 20V | 3-year limited warranty |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Power Tool Combo | Lithium-ion | 20V MAX | 3 years |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX PowerConn | Lithium-ion | 20V | — |
| DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver | — | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | — | 20V | 3-year limited |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tools | Lithium-ion | — | — |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX Cordless Pow | Lithium-ion | — | 3-year limited |
More Details on Our Top Picks
DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Power Tools Combo Kit, Includes Drill, Impact Driver, Reciprocating Saw, Circular Saw, Oscillating Tool, 5Ah Battery and Charger
I’d choose this kit for buyers who want to start building around DEWALT’s 20V MAX platform with more than drilling and fastening. The drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, and oscillating tool cover a wide spread of workshop and renovation tasks, while the included 5Ah battery offers more capacity than the smaller batteries supplied with some compact kits. Compared with the DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver (DCK277D2), this set gives up some simplicity and portability in exchange for three additional tool types. Its tradeoff is a 21.4-pound total weight and only one battery, so frequent tool changes or continuous work may call for another pack. I’d favor it for a home workshop or mixed DIY workload, not for someone who only needs a drill and driver.
Pros:- Five distinct tools cover drilling, fastening, cutting, and detail work.
- The 5Ah battery provides more capacity than a compact 2Ah pack.
- Shares the DEWALT 20V MAX battery platform.
- Includes a three-year limited warranty.
Cons:- One battery can limit productivity when several tools are in regular rotation.
- The 21.4-pound kit is less convenient to carry than a two-tool combo.
- The broad set may include tools that occasional DIYers rarely use.
Best for: DIY renovators and new DEWALT 20V MAX owners who need several tool types for repair, cutting, and fastening jobs.
Not ideal for: Buyers who mainly need drilling and fastening, or crews that need multiple batteries for uninterrupted work.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:1
- Included tools:Drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool
- Included battery capacity:5Ah
- Torque:1,500 in-lb
- Item weight:21.4 pounds
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this kit if you want a varied DEWALT 20V MAX tool lineup in one purchase and can work around having a single battery.”
Greenworks 24V Cordless Brushless Drill/Impact Driver Combo Kit with 2 Batteries and Fast Charger
This Greenworks kit is the lineup’s compact two-tool alternative for buyers who value brushless motors, portability, and fast charging more than a large collection of tool types. The drill and impact driver are a focused pairing for building, assembly, and fastening; the listed 1,950 in-lb impact-driver torque suits demanding fastening, while the 4.7-pound weight helps reduce fatigue in overhead or tight-space work. Unlike the five-tool DEWALT kit, it includes two batteries, which makes it easier to keep working while one pack charges. The tradeoff is a narrower Greenworks 24V platform within this roundup, so it won’t share batteries with the DEWALT or BLACK+DECKER options here. Its 2.0Ah packs also favor manageable jobs over long, continuous workloads.
Pros:- Brushless drill and impact driver provide a focused, capable core pairing.
- Two included batteries reduce downtime compared with a single-pack kit.
- Lightweight 4.7-pound design suits overhead and confined-space work.
- 65W USB-C fast charger and carrying case add practical convenience.
Cons:- The 2.0Ah battery capacity may require more frequent swaps on extended jobs.
- Greenworks 24V batteries are a separate platform from the other brands in this roundup.
- The kit does not include cutting or sanding tools.
Best for: DIYers and light trade users who mostly drill and drive, want a lighter brushless combo, and value having two batteries.
Not ideal for: Buyers building around DEWALT or BLACK+DECKER batteries, or anyone seeking saws and other tools in the same kit.
- Battery voltage:24V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Battery capacity:2.0Ah
- Batteries included:2
- Drill speed:0–2,000 RPM
- Impact driver torque:1,950 in-lb
- Weight:4.7 lbs
- Charger:65W USB-C fast charger
- Included accessories:2 drill bits, 2 screwdriver bits, carrying case
Our verdict“Pick this Greenworks combo if drilling and fastening are your main jobs and a light, two-battery brushless setup matters more than platform breadth.”
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Power Tool Combo Kit, 4-Tool Cordless Set with 2 Batteries and Charger
I’d place this BLACK+DECKER set ahead of a drill-only starter kit for homeowners who expect to tackle a mix of basic repairs and small projects. Its four-tool selection includes a drill/driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, and work light, giving it more task coverage than the BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX drill-and-home-tool kit. Two batteries also make it easier to keep working than the single-battery DEWALT five-tool package, though the included tool selection is less extensive. The stated 650 rpm maximum speed and DIY-oriented positioning point to a kit for lighter work rather than demanding, sustained cutting or heavy construction. I’d see it as a practical entry into the brand’s 20V system, with the caveat that buyers needing higher output or a wider accessory ecosystem may want a more trade-focused platform.
Pros:- Four tools cover drilling, two types of cutting, and workspace lighting.
- Two batteries support work while a spare is charging.
- The 14-pound listed weight is lighter than the DEWALT five-tool kit.
- Provides a straightforward entry point to BLACK+DECKER’s 20V system.
Cons:- The 650 rpm maximum rotational speed may not suit demanding applications.
- DIY-focused positioning makes it a weaker fit for sustained heavy-duty work.
- Batteries are limited to the BLACK+DECKER 20V platform.
Best for: Homeowners and first-time DIYers who want cordless tools for routine repairs, simple cutting jobs, and household projects.
Not ideal for: Contractors or frequent users who need high output for sustained heavy-duty cutting and fastening.
- Voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:2
- Included tools:Drill/driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, work light
- Maximum rotational speed:650 rpm
- Item weight:14 pounds
Our verdict“Choose this set for varied household projects and a second battery, but look to a more trade-oriented kit for frequent heavy work.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool, Battery and Charger Included
For buyers who already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries, this oscillating tool adds a specialist capability without requiring another full combo kit. Its brushless motor, three-speed selector, and quick-change accessory system are useful when a job shifts between plunge cuts, sanding, and detail work: speed control helps match the tool to the task, and faster blade swaps reduce interruptions. It comes with a 2.0Ah battery and charger, so it can also serve as a standalone purchase for someone entering the platform. Compared with the DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Combo Kit, this is far more focused and lighter, but it offers none of that kit’s drill, driver, or saw coverage. One battery may also be limiting for extended cutting and sanding sessions.
Pros:- Brushless motor supports efficient cordless operation.
- Three speed settings let users adjust control for different tasks.
- Quick-change accessory system simplifies blade and attachment swaps.
- Includes a 2.0Ah battery, charger, depth guide, and multiple accessories.
Cons:- Only one 2.0Ah battery is included, which can restrict long work sessions.
- A specialist tool rather than a broad multi-tool kit.
- The extra battery and charger may be redundant for existing DEWALT owners.
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who need a versatile oscillating tool for trim work, sanding, or cuts in confined areas.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a general-purpose starter kit or planning extended work without access to another battery.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:1
- Included battery capacity:2.0Ah
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed control:Three-speed selector
- Item weight:2.3 pounds
- Included components:DCS356 oscillating tool, DCB107 charger, depth guide, sanding pad, universal accessory adapter, blades, sandpaper
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“This is a sensible DEWALT platform addition for detail work, but it is not a substitute for a core drill-and-saw kit.”
BLACK+DECKER 12V MAX Drill & Home Tool Kit, 60-Piece
This kit is the light-duty, household-focused pick: a compact 12V drill plus 59 hand tools and accessories for tasks such as furniture assembly, hanging fixtures, and small repairs. That mix makes it more useful around the house than a power-tool-only starter set when the buyer also needs basic hand tools. Compared with the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX four-tool kit, it gives up saws and higher-voltage capability for a smaller drill and a broad assortment of manual tools. The 25 N m torque and 12V rating set a clear limit: I would not choose it for large drilling jobs, repeated heavy fastening, or regular construction work. Its carrying bag and LED light suit occasional use, but buyers planning to expand into demanding cordless tools should start with a higher-voltage platform.
Pros:- Compact 12V drill is suited to routine assembly and small repairs.
- Includes 59 hand tools and accessories alongside the drill.
- Carrying bag keeps the kit together for storage and transport.
- LED light helps illuminate dim work areas.
Cons:- 12V power and 25 N m torque limit demanding drilling and fastening.
- Does not include power saws or other specialized cordless tools.
- The basic tool selection may be outgrown by frequent DIY users.
Best for: Apartment dwellers, first-time homeowners, and casual DIYers who need a compact drill and basic hand tools for small household jobs.
Not ideal for: Frequent DIYers or tradespeople who need a saw, stronger drilling performance, or a cordless platform for demanding work.
- Power source:Battery powered
- Voltage:12 volts
- Amperage:1.5 A
- Maximum chuck size:0.5 inches
- Torque:25 N m
- Drill type:Basic drill
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Included tools:Drill, 59 hand tools and accessories
- Warranty:2-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this kit for occasional home fixes and hand-tool coverage, not for a buyer building a serious cordless power-tool setup.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver (DCK277D2)
I’d choose this DEWALT 20V MAX two-tool kit when drilling and fastening are the main jobs: the DCD777 drill/driver handles holes and controlled driving, while the DCF787 impact driver is better suited to repetitive fastening. The listed 1,500 in-lb torque gives this set more muscle for demanding screws than the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX drill kit, though that single figure doesn’t describe the drill and driver separately. Two batteries let one tool stay ready while the other is in use, and the bag keeps the setup portable. Compared with the CRAFTSMAN V20 seven-tool set, this DEWALT kit is a more focused choice, not a broad workshop starter package. Its tradeoffs are the limited tool selection and battery capacity that may fall short during long, uninterrupted work.
Pros:- Includes both a drill/driver and an impact driver for distinct drilling and fastening tasks
- Two lithium-ion batteries support work while a spare is charging
- Contractor bag makes the kit easier to carry between jobs
- Listed 1,500 in-lb torque suits more demanding fastening than a basic home drill
Cons:- Two tools still cover fewer jobs than the CRAFTSMAN V20 seven-tool set
- Battery runtime may require pauses or swaps during extended work
- No extra accessories beyond the listed kit components are specified
Best for: DIYers and tradespeople who regularly switch between drilling holes and driving fasteners and want two batteries in a portable kit.
Not ideal for: Buyers outfitting a workshop from scratch who need saws or other specialty tools, or users expecting long sessions without battery changes.
- Voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:2
- Listed torque:1,500 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:2,800 rpm
- Included tools:DCD777 drill/driver and DCF787 impact driver
- Included accessories:Charger and contractor bag
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT kit if drilling and fastening matter more than collecting a wider range of tools.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool Cordless, Variable Speed Brushless Motor with LED Light, Includes Two Wood Cutting Blades (Tool Only)
This DEWALT 20V MAX XR oscillating multi-tool is the focused pick for trim work, cutouts, and smaller jobs where changing accessories quickly matters more than building a full kit. Its tool-free blade change makes switching tasks less fiddly, while the LED helps illuminate a cut in a dim corner. At 2.4 pounds, it is easier to handle in tight spaces than a broader set such as the CRAFTSMAN V20 seven-tool kit, which brings more kinds of tools but also more bulk. The brushless motor is described as offering longer runtime, but this listing is tool only: DEWALT batteries and a charger are not included. Two wood blades provide a start, not a complete accessory selection, and this tool is better matched to light or medium work than sustained heavy cutting.
Pros:- Tool-free accessory changes make task switches quicker
- Brushless motor is specified to provide up to 57% more runtime
- LED light helps illuminate work areas with limited visibility
- Universal adapter supports compatibility with most oscillating accessories
Cons:- Battery and charger must be purchased separately
- Only two wood-cutting blades are included
- Better suited to light and medium tasks than extended heavy-duty use
Best for: DEWALT 20V battery owners who need a relatively light oscillating tool for trim, repairs, or occasional cutouts.
Not ideal for: First-time buyers without compatible batteries and a charger, or users who need a ready-to-run kit with a wide accessory assortment.
- Voltage:20V
- Power source:Battery powered
- Maximum rotational speed:20,000 rpm
- Weight:2.4 lb
- Dimensions:12.01 x 6.61 x 3.07 in
- Motor:Brushless
- Included accessories:Universal accessory adapter and two wood-cutting blades
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick this compact DEWALT specialty tool if you already own compatible batteries and need a nimble option for detail cuts and repairs.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 Power Tool Combo Kit, 7-Tool Cordless Set with 2 Batteries and Charger
I’d put this CRAFTSMAN V20 seven-tool kit near the top of a shortlist for buyers who need several tool types at once: it includes a drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, grinder, and LED light. That range covers more job categories than the focused DEWALT DCK277D2 drill-and-driver kit, which is the better fit if drilling and fastening are the priority. Two batteries and a charger provide a usable starting point, but the kit’s breadth comes with a practical cost: managing and carrying seven tools is less convenient than carrying a compact pair. The product information does not specify individual tool speeds, capacities, or battery amp-hours, so buyers can’t compare those details from the listing alone. Battery runtime may also constrain lengthy projects.
Pros:- Seven included tools cover a wide range of common workshop tasks
- Includes both a drill and impact driver as well as saws and a grinder
- Two batteries and a charger are included
- Shared 20V MAX battery platform links the included cordless tools
Cons:- Seven tools make the set bulkier to store and transport than a two-tool kit
- Battery life may limit extended work across several tools
- Listing does not provide individual tool performance figures or battery capacity
Best for: Homeowners setting up a workshop who expect to tackle drilling, cutting, grinding, and repair jobs with one cordless tool family.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need only a drill and driver, want a lightweight carry kit, or need detailed performance figures before choosing saws and grinders.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:2
- Tools included:Drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, grinder, and LED light
- Charger:Included
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose this CRAFTSMAN set if you need a wide spread of cordless tools now and can accept a bulkier kit with limited published specs.”
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX PowerConnect Cordless Drill Driver Kit with 100-Piece Bit Set, Battery & Charger Included
This BLACK+DECKER PowerConnect drill kit is aimed at home users who want a drill, battery, charger, and a 100-piece bit set in one purchase. That accessory bundle makes it a more immediately useful household pick than the DEWALT 20V MAX XR drill driver, which is listed with a 1/2-inch chuck but does not specify a bit set. A 24-position clutch helps limit overdriving when working with different screws and materials; the tradeoff is that its listed 150 in-lb maximum torque is modest beside the DEWALT DCK277D2 combo’s stated 1,500 in-lb figure. The BLACK+DECKER is better suited to lighter repairs than demanding fastening. Its 1.5 Ah battery may call for frequent charging during longer sessions, and the listed speed and torque figures vary across the supplied specs.
Pros:- 100-piece bit set gives beginners a broad accessory selection
- 24-position clutch supports more controlled screw driving
- Battery and charger are included
- Soft-grip handle and 20V battery platform suit routine home tasks
Cons:- Listed maximum torque of 150 in-lb is limited for heavy-duty fastening
- 1.5 Ah battery capacity may require frequent charging during extended work
- Two-speed setup offers less flexibility than tools with broader speed control
Best for: Homeowners and occasional DIYers who want a cordless drill with a broad selection of bits for furniture assembly, small repairs, and light drilling.
Not ideal for: Tradespeople or frequent DIYers who need higher torque, longer runtime, or a drill built around demanding work.
- Voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Battery capacity:1.5 Ah
- Maximum torque:150 in-lb
- Maximum chuck size:10 mm
- Number of speeds:2
- Clutch positions:24
- Included accessories:100-piece bit set, battery, and charger
Our verdict“Choose this BLACK+DECKER kit for light household jobs when included bits and an easy starter setup matter more than high torque or long runtime.”
DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver with Battery and Charger
For buyers who want a drill rather than a bundle of tools, this DEWALT 20V Max XR drill driver offers a straightforward combination of a 300 UWO motor, a two-speed transmission, and a 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck. The larger chuck gives it room for a wider range of bits than the BLACK+DECKER PowerConnect drill’s listed 10 mm chuck, which can matter when drilling larger holes or using heavier-duty accessories. Its speed range also lets the user favor slower control or faster drilling, instead of relying on a single setting. Unlike the DEWALT DCK277D2 kit, this is a standalone drill, not an included impact driver and drill pair. The supplied product data is ambiguous about whether a battery and charger are included: the title says they are, while the description says they are not, so buyers should verify package contents before choosing.
Pros:- 300 UWO motor is suited to a range of drilling and fastening tasks
- 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck accommodates larger bits than the listed BLACK+DECKER 10 mm chuck
- Two speed ranges support both controlled work and faster drilling
- Ergonomic handle is designed for comfort and control
Cons:- Battery and charger inclusion is unclear in the supplied product information
- Includes a drill only, unlike the DEWALT DCK277D2 drill-and-impact-driver kit
- Listed speed tops out at 1,500 rpm
Best for: DIYers and tradespeople who want a capable standalone drill with a 1/2-inch chuck and two-speed control, rather than a multi-tool bundle.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need an impact driver in the same package or who need certainty about battery and charger inclusion without checking the listing.
- Power platform:20V Max XR
- Motor power:300 UWO
- Speed ranges:0–450 rpm and 0–1,500 rpm
- Chuck size:1/2 in
- Chuck type:Ratcheting
- Transmission:Two-speed
- Features:High-speed transmission and ergonomic handle
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT drill if you want a standalone model with a full-size chuck and two-speed control, but confirm whether the package includes a battery and charger.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)
This two-tool set is the focused pick for buyers who want DEWALT’s 20V MAX platform without the bulk of a large combo. The compact drill and impact driver suit fastening and drilling in confined spaces, while the included pair of batteries lets you keep one charged as the other works. Its impact driver delivers 1,700 in-lb of torque, and LED lights help with visibility in dim work areas. Compared with the nine-tool DCK940D2, this kit is easier to store and less likely to leave you paying for tools you rarely use; it also offers fewer options for cutting and grinding. The tradeoff is a narrower task range, and two batteries may still fall short during prolonged, demanding work. I’d choose it for a compact, practical DEWALT setup rather than a one-kit workshop.
Pros:- Compact drill and impact driver are suited to tight work areas.
- Two lithium-ion batteries and a charger support battery rotation.
- Impact driver provides 1,700 in-lb of torque for demanding fastening.
- LED work lights improve visibility in dim locations.
Cons:- Two tools cover fewer tasks than the nine-tool DCK940D2 or the CRAFTSMAN four-tool kit.
- Battery capacity may be limiting during extended heavy-duty work.
- The DEWALT platform and kit may be more than occasional DIY users need.
Best for: Home renovators and trade users who regularly drill and fasten in tight spaces and want two core DEWALT cordless tools.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need cutting or grinding tools in the same kit, or casual users who will rarely use a cordless drill and impact driver.
- Brand:DEWALT
- Model:DCK240C2
- Voltage:20V
- Included batteries:2 lithium-ion batteries
- Weight:3.6 lb
- Chuck sizes:1/2 in. drill; 1/4 in. impact driver
- Impact driver torque:1,700 in-lb
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this kit for a compact DEWALT drill-and-driver pairing; pick a broader combo if you need cutting tools too.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tools, 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit (DCK940D2)
The DCK940D2 earns its place for buyers who want a large collection of cordless tools from one brand and one battery platform. Its nine-tool lineup spans drilling, impact driving, cutting and grinding, so it can cover more kinds of work than the DCK240C2’s drill-and-driver pairing. Two batteries and a charger are included, and a Bluetooth speaker adds a job-site convenience that the CRAFTSMAN V20 four-tool kit does not emphasize. The breadth is the main appeal, but it also creates the clearest compromise: this set is heavier, takes more storage, and includes tools that may sit unused in a basic DIY household. The supplied specs list a 7,000 rpm maximum rotational speed but do not identify which tool it applies to, so I wouldn’t use that figure to compare every tool in the set. This makes most sense as a platform-building kit, not a minimalist purchase.
Pros:- Nine tools cover a wider range of applications than the DCK240C2.
- Two lithium-ion batteries and a charger are included.
- A broad DEWALT 20V MAX collection can reduce the need for separate tool platforms.
- Bluetooth speaker adds a practical job-site extra.
Cons:- The many tools and batteries make the set heavy and harder to store.
- Some included tools may be unnecessary for basic household repairs.
- The supplied specs do not clarify which tool the listed 7,000 rpm maximum applies to.
Best for: Contractors, property maintenance teams, and serious DIYers who need several types of cordless tools and want to build around DEWALT 20V MAX.
Not ideal for: Occasional home users with limited storage or a short task list who would get more use from a compact drill-and-driver kit.
- Brand:DEWALT
- Model:DCK940D2
- Platform voltage:20V
- Number of tools:9
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Included batteries:2
- Power source:Battery powered
- Listed maximum rotational speed:7,000 rpm; supplied data does not specify the tool
Our verdict“Pick this kit when you’ll use several tool types and value a broad DEWALT setup; skip it if a drill and driver cover your needs.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 MAX Cordless Power Tool Kit with Circular Saw, Impact Driver, Drill/Driver and LED Task Light
This CRAFTSMAN kit is a useful middle ground for buyers who need more than a drill and driver but don’t want the nine-tool spread of the DEWALT DCK940D2. Its four-tool selection includes a circular saw and LED task light alongside a drill/driver and impact driver, giving DIYers a direct route from fastening to basic cutting work. Two batteries and a charger are included, and the three-year limited warranty adds a defined coverage period. Compared with the DEWALT DCK240C2, the saw makes this set more capable for sheet goods and small project cuts, but the added tool also means more weight and battery demand. The kit is limited to the CRAFTSMAN V20 system, and its supplied 4,200 rpm figure does not identify which tool it describes. I’d favor it for mixed home projects, not for buyers who already own another battery platform or need a larger professional tool lineup.
Pros:- Circular saw adds cutting capability absent from the DEWALT DCK240C2.
- Includes a drill/driver, impact driver, LED task light, batteries, and charger.
- Two lithium-ion batteries support swapping while one is charging.
- Backed by a 3-year limited warranty.
Cons:- The four-tool range is narrower than the nine-tool DEWALT DCK940D2.
- Battery runtime may be limiting for prolonged cutting or other demanding work.
- The supplied 4,200 rpm figure is not tied to a specific tool.
Best for: DIY renovators and homeowners who want a drill, impact driver, and circular saw for small building and repair projects.
Not ideal for: Buyers already invested in DEWALT 20V MAX or another battery system, or professionals seeking a wider selection of specialized tools.
- Brand:CRAFTSMAN
- Platform voltage:20V
- Included tools:Drill/driver, impact driver, circular saw, LED task light
- Circular saw blade:6 1/2 in.
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Included batteries:2
- Item weight:16.9 lb
- Listed maximum rotational speed:4,200 rpm; supplied data does not specify the tool
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this CRAFTSMAN set for home projects that need both drilling and basic saw work without a nine-tool kit.”

How We Picked
I compared these 13 products as evidence of what each power tool brand offers buyers, rather than treating every kit as interchangeable. The main criteria were the range of tools included, battery and charger provisions, whether the product is a focused tool or a multi-tool starter bundle, and how well the offering fits recurring home projects versus heavier or more varied work. I also considered the practical value of buying into a battery platform: adding compatible tools later can matter more than getting the largest bundle today.
The ranking favors versatility and a clear use case over tool count alone. DEWALT leads because this selection spans compact combinations, broad kits, and standalone tools, giving buyers more ways to build around the brand. CRAFTSMAN and BLACK+DECKER earn places for buyers who want bundled coverage or approachable home-use options; Greenworks is a more focused cordless combo choice. Since the supplied lineup does not provide comparable runtime, durability, or service data, I avoid claiming those brands outperform one another on those points.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Power Tool Brands
Choosing among the best power tool brands is less about picking a logo than choosing a cordless system you can live with as your needs change. I’d start with the work you actually do, then check what a kit leaves out and what you may want to add later.
Choose a Battery Platform for Your Likely Next Tools
A combo kit is also a decision about the batteries and chargers you may use for years. Before buying, list the next two or three tools you are likely to need and check whether the brand offers them on the same platform. A large kit can look like an easy shortcut, but it is less useful if its tools do not match your future jobs. Avoid choosing solely by voltage labels, since those do not tell you how broad or suitable a brand’s tool range is. If you already own compatible batteries, a standalone tool may be a better addition than another starter kit. When you are starting from scratch, platform breadth can matter more than one extra accessory.
Match the Kit to Your Work, Not Its Tool Count
Count the jobs you expect to tackle before counting the tools in a bundle. A drill and impact driver cover many fastening and drilling tasks, while saws and oscillating tools add useful capacity for cutting and renovation work. Bigger sets can save repeated purchases, but unused tools still take up storage space and tie up part of the kit’s value. A smaller combo may leave room to choose a better-matched saw or specialty tool later. First-time buyers should check that the bundle covers their immediate needs without assuming every included tool will be useful. For occasional repairs, a compact collection can be easier to store and maintain.
Check What the Kit Actually Includes
Product names can make a package sound more complete than it is, so verify the listing for batteries, charger, blades, bits, and carrying or storage equipment. A tool-only option can be a sensible addition to an existing platform but a poor first purchase if you still need a battery and charger. Included accessories can help you begin a task, yet a starter assortment may not cover specialized materials or frequent use. Compare the number of batteries as well as the tools: a second battery can reduce interruptions when one needs charging. Think through the first project you plan to do and identify any extra consumables it will require. That small check can prevent a kit from sitting unused while you source missing essentials.
Balance Power and Portability With Real Workload
For occasional household work, a lighter, simpler kit may be easier to handle and store than a larger collection built for varied tasks. Repeated drilling, cutting, or fastening changes the calculation: comfort, battery availability, and having the right tool for the material become more important. Do not assume a higher voltage or a brushless label alone guarantees the best fit; the job, tool design, and battery system all play a part. If possible, assess grip and balance in person, especially if you expect extended overhead work. Buyers who take on renovations should plan for spare batteries and replacement accessories as ongoing parts of ownership. Choose for the hardest jobs you regularly expect, not a rare project that may never happen.
Factor in Storage, Service, and Long-Term Additions
A tool platform is a longer-term commitment, so check where you can buy compatible additions and replacement accessories in your area. Storage matters too: a large bundle needs more space, and loose batteries and chargers are easier to misplace without a consistent system. Read the warranty and service terms for the exact tool and seller rather than assuming every product from a brand has identical coverage. For a homeowner who uses tools occasionally, simple organization and easy access to replacement parts can outweigh professional-grade breadth. For frequent use, look at whether the lineup includes the specialty tools your work may demand. This broader ownership check can make a modest starter kit a better choice than an oversized bundle.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is DEWALT the best choice if I’m starting a cordless tool collection?
In this roundup, DEWALT is my strongest starting point for buyers who want several ways to build one cordless collection. The selection includes drill-and-impact combos, larger kits, and standalone tools, so you can choose a small entry set or a broader bundle. That range does not mean every buyer needs the biggest kit; choose based on the tools you will use soon. If your needs are limited to basic home repairs, a simpler BLACK+DECKER kit may be a better match. Check the battery and charger contents before you buy, especially if you are beginning without compatible tools.
Should I buy a large combo kit or start with a drill-and-driver set?
Start with a drill-and-driver set if those tools cover most of your current projects and you want to add specialty tools only when a need arises. A larger bundle makes more sense when you already know you will use its saws, lights, or other included tools. Bigger sets can reduce the need to shop for each tool separately, but they also take up more space and may include tools that see little use. Consider the extra battery and charger arrangements, not just the tool count. A staged collection gives you more control over which tools you add next.
Does a tool-only DEWALT product make sense for a first purchase?
Usually not if you do not already own a compatible battery and charger. A tool-only purchase can be a practical way to expand an existing DEWALT collection without buying another starter package. For a first purchase, compare the complete cost and contents of a kit that includes the power essentials. Also confirm that the specific tool shares the battery platform you plan to use. Missing batteries or a charger can delay a project and add purchases you did not expect.
Which option is more suitable for basic household repairs: BLACK+DECKER or a DEWALT combo?
BLACK+DECKER is the more approachable fit here for buyers whose needs center on occasional repairs and a straightforward starter set. The DEWALT drill-and-impact combos are a better match if you expect more varied or repeated work and want to build around a broader selection of tools in this roundup. Neither choice is automatically right for every home: think about what you will drill, fasten, or cut and how often. A kit with bits or home-tool accessories can be convenient, though included accessories may not suit every material. Check the package contents and choose the one that matches your actual task list.
Is Greenworks a good pick if I want more than one battery in the box?
The Greenworks drill-and-impact combo is a clear option in this lineup for buyers who value having two batteries included with a focused set. That can help keep work moving while one battery is charging, particularly when both tools are in use. Its selection here is narrower than DEWALT’s, so compare the wider compatible-tool range available to you before committing to the platform. If you expect to add saws or specialty tools, future availability may matter more than the initial battery count. If your plans are mainly drilling and fastening, the focused bundle may suit your needs.
Conclusion
My best overall pick is DEWALT for buyers who want the broadest choice in this lineup, from drill combos to larger kits and individual tools. For best value in bundled coverage, I’d look at CRAFTSMAN’s seven-tool set if you will use its range; BLACK+DECKER is my best beginner fit for straightforward home tasks. Buyers seeking a more premium-feeling path should consider DEWALT’s XR standalone tools or broader platform options, particularly if they already own compatible batteries. For specific needs, Greenworks is a focused drill-and-impact combo with two batteries, while the DEWALT oscillating tools suit buyers adding a specialty tool to an existing collection. Pick the platform that covers your next projects and leaves a sensible route to expand, rather than choosing by bundle size alone.
Fall yard work Picks
leaf blowers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
















